Golf Bucks County

By Bob Oliver

Middletown Country Club

Middletown is a compact 80 acres of challenging golf, with rolling hills and large specimen trees that have watched many golfers travel its fairways over time. It has retained its old time feel with tees and greens in close proximity, allowing golfers to walk the course if they choose.

The Traveling Golfer

With host Tony Leodora will travel both near and far to bring viewers a look at some of the most spectacular golf destinations in the world!

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/golfbuck/public_html/plugins/content/youtubeplugin/youtubeplugin.php on line 49
30 Dec

Bucks crowns club champions

Written by Bob Oliver


Cheryl Seamans is making it a habit to win women’s club championships at Spring Mill Country Club. The former Pennsylvania State Women’s Amateur Champion won her sixth Spring Mill crown in 2013. Previously, Seamans captured the 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2011 titles.


But Seamans wasn’t the only area player to add to the club championship resumes. Jonathan Radick added a fourth title to his trophy case, having won the 2004, 2009, 2012 and 2013 men’s titles at Northampton Valley. Lookaway saw Joanna Neely claim a fourth women’s title, having also won in 2004, 2007 and 2009.


At Yardley, Chris Ault claimed title number three, adding to crowns he claimed in 2009 and 2012, while Bensalem Township saw Steve Gerhart regain the title he also won in 2010 and 2011. Myla Sklar won the woman’s crown at Philmont, a title she also won in 2010 and 2013.


A number of players successfully defended the crowns they won in 2012, including Joseph Gunerman (Jericho National) and Neil Gordon (Five Ponds) among men and Veronica Howell (Doylestown) among women.


Roc Irey scored in 2013, adding to the title he won in 2010 at Lookaway, while Zach Smith won at Doylestown after claiming his first crown in 2009. Dave Gardener won at Middletown, adding to his 2010 crown.


Men’s first time winners included Charles Jones (Bucks Club), Connor Sharp (Torresdale-Frankford), Patrick Welsh (Makefield Highlands), Zachary Low (Trenton) and Chris Crawford (Spring Mill).  Women winning for the first time included Emily Garrett (Bucks Club), Theresa Roberts (Jericho National) and Karen Klemp (Yardley).


Twelve-time club champion Glenn Smeraglio (9 at Yardley, 2 at Mercer Oaks, 1 at Commonwealth National) title find a place for number 13, but did capture his 8th Mercer Metropolitan Open.


29 Oct

Rogowitz runner-up at states

Written by Bob Oliver

Pennsbury's Jackie Rogowicz carded rounds of 76 and 74 for a 150 total in the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association State Golf Championships, finishing two shots behind Mount St. Joseph's Isabella DiLiso. Third place saw Council Rock North's Erica Herr, looking for a three-peat, finish at 76-75--151.

New Hope-Solebury's Roland Massimino was third in the Boys AA competition at 72-73--145, while in the Boys AAA division Holy Ghost Prep's Steve Cerbara posted a 78-77--155 total for 12th, while Pennsbury's Vinay Ramesh was a stroke back at 79-77-156.


15 Sep

Charen sets Makefield record

Written by Bob Oliver

Langhorne's Dan Charen is the new course record-holder at Makefield Highlands Golf Club.


The Ohio State graduate, who plays professionally on golf's mini tours, fired a 5-under-par 67 from Makefield's back (black) tees. His score included seven birdies against only two bogeys. Attesting to the record were playing partners Steve Budenz, Pat Welsh and Brud Hutchinson.

14 Aug

Ault corrals 100th Pa. Amateur

Written by Bob Oliver

Chris Ault became the first Bucks County winner of the Pennsylvania Amateur with a superb 76-70-67---213 effort at Saucon Valley's Old Course. The Yardley Country Club member defeated Lancaster's Dave Denlinger and Glenmaura's Brandon Matthews by two shots in the 54-hole affair.


Other locals included Brandon Dalinka (217), Chris Crawford (218), Glenn Smeraglio (219), Zachary Herr (221) and Tom Timby (229). Jay Sigel of Berwyn was an 11-time winner of the event before moving over to the PGA Champions Tour.